Author: Svetlozar Igov


Father of the Bulgarian Spy Novel

Bogomil Rainov, founding father of "spy novel" as a literary genre in Bulgaria, entertained a special fame in this country. Several generations of Bulgarians have grown up with his detective and crime stories and his most famous character special agent Emil Boev was no less charming than James Bond.

Find below a list of crime novels from Bogomil Rainov, where Emil Boev harangues as bulgarian spy all over the world. The made-for-TV movies with the same action hero used the script based on the novelization:

"Gospodin Nikoy" (1969), aka "Mister Nobody" (English title).

"Nyama nishto po-hubavo ot loshoto vreme" (1971), aka "There Is Nothing Finer Than Bad Weather" (English title).

"Golyamata skuka" (1973), aka "The Great Boredom" (English title).

"Rekviem za edna mrasnitza" (1976), aka "Requiem for a Tramp" (English title).

"Edin naivnik na sredna vazrast" (1976), aka "A Middle Aged Slicker" (English title).

"Umiray samo v kraen sluchay" (1978), aka "Dying in the Worst" (English title).

"Tayfuni s nezhni imena" (1979), aka "Typhoons with Gentle Names" (English title).

"Denyat ne si lichi po zaranta" (1985), aka "Day Is Not Obvious from the Morning" (English title).



Professor Bogomil Raynov (born in 1919) was a poet and prose writer. He began his literary career in 1936, and was considered to be a career-seeker. He was one of those directly responsible for the tragic end of Alexander Zhendov, who as an artist and party member of many years' standing fell victim to Chervenkov's personality cult.

Between 1953 and 1960, Raynov served in the Bulgarian Embassy in Paris, and since 1961 he has been a professor of aesthetics at the Academy of Fine Arts in Sofia. He has occupied a number of high administrative posts within the Bulgarian Writers Union (BWU) system. Between 1968 and 1980, he was first deputy president of the BWU, a post which was eliminated during the last two years, but which has once again been given to him in a most recent reshuffle.

In recent years, Raynov has become the Number Two Man, after Georgi Djagarov, in the BWU hierarchy. Like Djagarov and Zarev, he has also received the Dimitrov's Prize for cultural achievements in Bulgaria.

Bogomil Raynov died in 2007, aged 88.



Picture 1: Sample illustrations on the text above.

(i). Bogomil Rainov (1919-2007), founding father of "spy novel" as a literary genre in Bulgaria.



Copyright 2009 by the author.